Thread: Hey D-Pad, I'm a 'Pokemon' Noob and I Have Questions!

Cryptek

Japan? I'll pass thanks
Platforms
  1. Nintendo
As per the title, I'm new to the Pokemon phenomenon and have never really played one.

Due to extreme generosity, I own a Switch and besides the Zelda games, I feel like I have an obligation to own at least one Pokemon geimu.

So what's a good place to start? Keep in mind I have a Nintendo Switch so it has to be one available on that system.

Just so you know, while not on the Switch, Pokemon Platinum always looked good to me.

But I need a starting point. I know almost next to nothing about the games.

I really thought Pokemon Let’s Go was great. It’s a kind of casual/newbie oriented remake of the first game in the series, and while I’m far from being a newbie, I just really enjoyed it.

Reactions: Zefah and Cryptek
I really thought Pokemon Let’s Go was great. It’s a kind of casual/newbie oriented remake of the first game in the series, and while I’m far from being a newbie, I just really enjoyed it.
Awesome saucers. I'll check that out.

You know it's funny because I do have a few Pokemon games I never played. Namely, Pokemon Super Mystery Dungeon and one of the Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia.

Reactions: Arc
Pokémon Sword and Shield are great on the Switch. They are more streamlined than some games in the series and have little in the way of side quests, but they serve as great entry points to the series. The Let’s Go games are better than they deserve to be, but the catching mechanics and wild “battles” are unique to the series.

Either option makes a good starting point, but I feel Sword and Shield are more representative if you are interested in the series as a whole.

As per the title, I'm new to the Pokemon phenomenon and have never really played one.

Due to extreme generosity, I own a Switch and besides the Zelda games, I feel like I have an obligation to own at least one Pokemon geimu.